ERIN HANNIGAN District 1, (707) 553-5363 MONICA BROWN District 2, Vice-Chair, (707) 784-3031 WANDA WILLIAMS District 3, Chair Pro-Tem (707) 784-6136 JOHN M. VASQUEZ District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129 MITCH MASHBURN District 5, (707) 784-6030



BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

June 22, 2023

The Honorable Aisha Wahab Chair, Senate Public Safety Committee 1021 O St., Ste. 7330 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SUPPORT – AB 474 (Rodriguez) State Threat Assessment Center: transnational criminal organizations

Dear Chairwoman Wahab,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I write in support of AB 474, which would require the State Threat Assessment Center (STAC) and the California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) to prioritize, to the greatest extent possible, cooperation with state and local efforts to disrupt and dismantle criminal networks trafficking opioid drugs that pose a threat to California.

Solano County supports AB 474 as the STAC would be tasked with supporting the preparation and dissemination of intelligence products for use by public safety entities, including, and not limited to the Solano County Sheriff's Office, Probation Department, Office of Emergency Services. Allowing our County and State to gain insights and information on TCOs and other threats to California is the first step in fighting back and stopping the opioid epidemic.

Coordinated investigations, enforcement actions, and prosecutions between state and local law enforcement partners will eliminate barriers and leverage the authorities and resources to identify, investigate, disrupt, and dismantle at every level of operations the ability of cartels and other criminal networks to smuggle drugs, especially illicit fentanyl, into California. For these reasons, Solano County is pleased to support AB 474.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, Chair Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC: Members, Senate Public Safety Committee The Honorable Freddie Rodriquez, Assemblymember The Honorable Bill Dodd, Senator The Honorable Lori D. Wilson, Assemblymember The Honorable Solano County Board of Supervisors Karen Lange, SYASL Partners