BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

ERIN HANNIGAN District 1, Vice-Chair, (707) 553-5363 **MONICA BROWN** District 2, (707) 784-3031 WANDA WILLIAMS

District 3, Chair Pro-Tem (707) 784-6136

JOHN M. VASQUEZ District 4, (707) 784-6129

District 5, Chair, (707) 784-6030

MITCH MASHBURN



BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

January 19, 2024

David J. Pesavento, PE Systemwide Multibenefit Initiatives California Department of Water Resources 715 P Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: a letter of SUPPORT to the California Department of Water Resources for United States Bureau of Reclamation Aquatic Ecosystem Restoration Project Grant Funding Application

Dear Mr. Pesavento,

The County of Solano (County) has actively engaged with the California Department of Water Resources (DWR) and the Little Egbert Joint Powers Agency (LEJPA) to develop and deliver a multibenefit project on the Little Egbert Tract. The County is strongly interested in supporting a multi-benefit project that (1) reduces regional and local flood risk, (2) builds a more resilient agricultural economy. (3) preserves reliable access to clean water for municipal and agricultural uses, (4) accommodates public access for recreation, and (5) creates high quality habitat to support a healthy Delta ecosystem. Through continued coordination and engagement, the County believes these objectives can be accomplished through the Little Egbert Multi-Benefit Project.

On behalf of the Board of Supervisors – and based on the success of the engagement between the County and DWR to date - the County fully supports DWR in applying to secure federal grant funds through the US Bureau of Reclamation's (USBR) Aquatic Ecosystem Restoration Project (AERP) Program. If you have any questions, please contact me at your convenience at (707) 784-6130 and MHMashburn@SolanoCounty.com.

Sincerely,

Mitch Mashburn, Chair

Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

The Honorable Alex Padilla, United States Senator

The Honorable Laphonza Butler, United States Senator

The Honorable John Garamendi, United States Representative

The Honorable Mike Thompson, United States Representative

The Honorable Bill Dodd, California State Senator

The Honorable Lori D. Wilson, California State Assemblymember

Paragon Government Relations

Karen Lange, SYASL Partners, Inc.