## Minutes For June 14, 2005 IHSS

IN-HOME SUPPORTIVE SERVICES PUBLIC AUTHORITY

June 14, 2005

MINUTES

Solano County Board of Supervisors met in its ex-officio capacity as the In-Home Supportive Services Public Authority on this day in regular session. Present were Directors Kromm, Reagan, Silva, Vasquez, and President Kondylis.

Agenda Item No. 30 Memorandum of Understanding

The Board was provided with an Agenda Submittal from the Department of Human Resources dated June 14, 2005, incorporated herein by reference, regarding the terms and conditions of the proposed Memorandum of Understanding between the Solano County In-Home Suportive Services (IHSS) providers and SEIU, Local #1280 for the term of January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2005.

Doug Darling, IHSS Provider, noted that they provide for the needs of the disabled and elderly of the County and did not feel that they had the County's support. Mr. Darling noted that this was his only source of income and urged the Board to support a better health care program.

Susannah Straw-Gast, Business Agent for Local #1280, noted that the work of the Provider allowed for the care of people in their homes and not in institutions and they were not provided with overtime, sick leave, vacation leave or mileage. Ms. Straw-Gast noted that despite the lack of a pay increase in the contract, the members approved the contract for the short term.

Jean Ogles, disabled resident of Vallejo, noted that she needed the care of a Provider and urged the Board to support the proposed Memorandum of Understanding.

At the conclusion of discussion, the Board adopted and authorized Chairwoman Kondylis to sign Resolution No. 001-2005 approving the Memorandum of Understanding with Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Local #1280, representing In-Home Supportive Services Providers for 2005.

MOTION: Kromm. SECOND: Vasquez.

AYES: Kromm, Reagan, Silva, Vasquez, Kondylis.

As said business was completed, the Board of Directors adjourned to continue the regular meeting of the Board of Supervisors.

BARBARA R. KONDYLIS, President

MICHAEL D. JOHNSON, Secretary

By

Patty Crittenden, Deputy Secretary