BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

District 1, (707) 553-5363

MONICA BROWN
District 2, Vice-Chair, (707) 784-3031

WANDA WILLIAMS
District 3, Chair Pro-Tem (707) 784-6136

JOHN M. VASQUEZ
District 4, Chair, (707) 784-6129

MITCH MASHBURN



BILL EMLEN County Administrator (707) 784-6100

675 Texas Street, Suite 6500 Fairfield, CA 94533-6342 Fax (707) 784-6665

www.solanocounty.com

April 26, 2023

District 5, (707) 784-6030

ERIN HANNIGAN

The Honorable Isaac Bryan Chair, Assembly Elections Committee 1021 O St., Suite 5630 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: OPPOSE, AB 544 (Bryan) Voting: County Jails

Dear Chairman Bryan,

On behalf of the Solano County Board of Supervisors, I write to inform you that we must respectfully oppose AB 544, which would require a county jail facility, for elections held on or after November 1, 2024, to provide a polling location, as defined, that permits any eligible incarcerated person to perform specified activities, including registering to vote and voting, returning a vote by mail ballot, voting a provisional ballot, and receiving a replacement ballot.

The bill would require the County elections official to work with the County Sheriff or County jail facility administrator to design and implement a program that establishes a polling location at each facility and to post the plan for the program on the County elections official's internet website. This would require the ROV to determine, coordinate and implement a significant number of logistics to provide polling places in County jails, including for special elections, which are all unknown at this time.

Additionally, there is no guarantee any state funding will be made available for reimbursements for these additional mandates. Further, a process to allow inmates to vote and participate in elections is already in place and in use.

For these reasons, Solano County must respectfully oppose AB 544.

Sincerely,

John M. Vasquez, Chair

Karen Lange, SYASL Partners

Solano County Board of Supervisors

CC:

The Honorable Bill Dodd, Senator
The Honorable Lori D. Wilson, Assemblymember
The Honorable Dawn Addis, Assemblymember
The Honorable Solano County Board of Supervisors
Tim Flanagan, Chief Information Officer and Registrar of Voters, Solano County