Solano County Airport Land Use Commission
Solano County Airport Land Use Commission (ALUC)

Solano County Airport Land Use Commission
c/o Department of Resource Management
675 Texas Street, Suite 5500
Fairfield, CA 94533-6341

(707)784-6765 / (707)784-4805

Agency Administrator
Terry Schmidtbauer, Secretary

Date of Agency Formation
December 7, 1971

Enabling Legislation
State Aeronautics Act
Chapter 4, Article 3:5, Section 21670.1

Area Served
898 square miles

Populations Served

History of Agency
Established on December 7, 1971 under Ordinance 781 which granted to the Solano County Airport Advisory Committee the responsibilities of the Airport Land Use Commission.

Services Provided

The Airport Land Use Commission was created to provide for orderly development of public airports in Solano County, as well as area surrounding airports to prevent new noise and safety problems. The Commission prepares Airport Land Use Plans and reviews city and county general plans and zoning for consistency with Airport Land Use Plans.

Contractual: None

Major Facilities: None

Other Major Capital Assets: None

Governing Body


Mr.  Bill Seiden, Chair
Ms. Catherine Cook, Vice Chair
Mr.  Bruce DuClair
Ms. Ruth Meyer
Mr.  Thomas Randall
Mr.  Don Ryan
Mr.  Ross Sagun
Mr.  Dan Sarna
Mr.  Stephen Vancil 

Term Expiration



District 3
District 1
District 4
District 5
District 2
Rio Vista

The Commission consists of 9 members who are appointed to serve four year terms and must be a county resident. Five members that are appointed by the Board of Supervisors are from each supervisorial district, one member from each city containing an airport (Rio Vista and Vacaville), and one member from the City of Vallejo appointed by the Selection Committee of mayors. Five of the total membership must have aviation expertise. The Members also participate in the following subcommittees:

Procedures Committee
Catherine Cook, Chair
Bruce DuClair
Stephen Vancil

Wildlife Hazard Committee
Dan Sarna, Chair
Bruce DuClair
Thomas Randall
Bill Seiden, Alternate

Wind Turbine Committee
Catherine Cook, Chair
Ruth Meyer
Stephen Vancil
Bill Seiden

Liaisons to Solano County Airports:
Nut Tree Airport - Ross Sagun
Rio Vista Airport - Dan Sarna / Stephen Vancil
Travis AFB - Ruth Meyer / Stephen Vancil

Member compensation:  Members are not financially compensated.

Staffing:  Two staff members from the Department of Resource Management