Flood Zone Determination
(Unincorporated Areas of Solano County Only)

Flood Zone Determination 

New construction and substantial improvements of any structure shall have the lowest floor, including the basement, elevated at least one foot above the base flood elevation. Upon the completion of subfloor or slab being installed on the lowest level of the structure, the elevation of the lowest floor, including the basement, shall be certified by a registered professional engineer or surveyor. Such certification or verification shall be provided to the floodplain administrator (Building and Safety Division).

For all new construction and substantial improvements, fully enclosed areas below the lowest floor that are subject to flooding shall be designed to automatically equalize hydrostatic flood forces on exterior walls by allowing for the entry and exit of flood water.

Flood Zone Determination Application

The California Department of Water Resources is launching the Flood Risk Notification Program.  This innovative program is aimed at reducing the physical and financial impacts associated with potential flooding. Starting Friday, September 17, 2010, nearly 275,000 Central Valley property owners in 17 counties will receive the State’s first-ever “Flood Risk Notice.” This is a tool to raise flood risk awareness and encourage preventative actions to reduce flood damages and minimize losses. 

Under State law adopted in 2007 (Water Code Section 9121), a flood risk notice must be sent each year to owners of properties located behind any State-Federal levee and within a Levee Flood Protection Zone (LFPZ).  DWR LFPZ maps are used to determine which property owners will receive the notice. The LFPZs include portions of Sacramento, San Joaquin, Yolo, Sutter, Yuba, Butte, Fresno, Merced, Tehama, Colusa, Glenn, Solano, Stanislaus, Lake, Placer, Plumas, and Madera Counties.

Property owners may visit the program’s interactive website at www.water.ca.gov/myfloodrisk and enter their address to get more detailed information about their flood risk, including the sources of flooding and potential flood depths for their properties.  This website includes the Frequently Asked Questions that may help you answer some questions from the public. 

Solano County Water Agency (SCWA)

SCWA is responsible for operations and maintenance of the Ulatis Flood Control Project and the Green Valley Flood Control Project. SCWA also has authority to deal with all flood control matters within the boundaries of SCWA. For more information please see link below. 
Solano County Water Agency